Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
TIG Perfect - Adds Pulse Functionality To Your TIG Welder - Built With Propeller! — Parallax Forums

TIG Perfect - Adds Pulse Functionality To Your TIG Welder - Built With Propeller!

MahonroyMahonroy Posts: 175
edited 2015-05-29 11:37 in Robotics
Hey guys,
First off I wanted to thank everyone for their help and answering all of my questions on these forums. I am a software engineer, and this is my first electronics project that I have completed - was definitely a good learning experience. I hope to do many more!

Now to my project:
TIG Perfect is a plug and play device for your TIG Welder. This device adds pulsing functionality to your under-equipped/less-expensive welder, at a fraction of the cost of buying a welder with these features built into it.
Here is how it works: the TIG welder uses a 0-10v signal for the pedal position... my device reads this signal as an input, and generates a new signal output based on this input and user settings. Some of my challenges that I had when developing this is that a TIG welder (or any welder really) emits a TON of interference. I had to design this device to be able to withstand this interference and not reset or become damaged from prolonged exposure. This involved creating various filters on the power supply rails, the addition of protective circuitry, and using more tolerant electrical components. Having solid grounds to the case was also very important to better shield the circuit.

Photos of the device:
http://www.Jattus.com/Dump2/tig_perfect_1.jpg
http://www.Jattus.com/Dump2/tig_perfect_2.jpg

Here are some photos of the circuit board for you to check out:
http://www.Jattus.com/Dump2/tig_perfect_board_1.jpg
http://www.Jattus.com/Dump2/tig_perfect_board_2.jpg

I also made a video to demonstrate how it works for youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtWwz9YVqho

Let me know what you guys think, and if you have any questions about it, thanks!

Comments