Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ESC Beep Troubleshooting Guide — Parallax Forums

ESC Beep Troubleshooting Guide

tkatertkater Posts: 2
edited 2015-04-18 10:55 in Robotics
I almost have my ELEV-8 v2 ready to fly, but I found out I'm not as tech savvy as I originally thought.

I have individually plugged each ESC/motor into the throttle channel of the receiver and successfully ran them. Now that I have plugged the ESCs and the receiver outputs into the hoverfly board I need to sync the ESCs. I put the transmitter on full throttle, the ESCs beeped twice, throttled all the way down, and then instead of a long beep, the ESCs beeped three times, paused, beeped once, and then the flight controller beeped twice.

Additional Info:
- I flashed the flight controller with version 2.0 of the software.
- I have never used a 'fancy' transmitter before - so the problem could easily lie there.
- I have a FlySky FS-T6 transmitter - I wasn't sure if the switch for the 5th channel should be on or off, so I tried it both ways.

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2015-04-16 16:34
    According to the version 1 assembly guide, this is normal.

https://www.parallax.com/sites/default/files/downloads/80000-ELEV-8-Quadcopter-Info-Assembly-Guide-v1.1_0.pdf

Page 18
    10. To synchronize your ESCs, power on the ELEV-8 quadcopter. Turn on your transmitter, then set Throttle to max position. After the standard
    startup sequence, two separate beeps will indicate the max throttle position has been set and stored. Lower throttle to min position. You will
    hear three beeps, which indicate that min throttle position has been set and stored.

The version 1 and 2 Hoverfly board are the same and run the same firmware.

What color is the LED on the Hoverfly board after the startup sequence?
    edited 2015-04-16 16:46
    The version 2 manual says differently:
    Move the throttle stick all the way up to maximum throttle and leave it there.