Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using Photocell to detect winner of race — Parallax Forums

Using Photocell to detect winner of race

mechjo16mechjo16 Posts: 12
edited 2015-04-03 14:22 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,

I am new to using the BS2. I am working with my son and we are building a hot wheels track. There will be two separate tracks. Down hill drag strips if you will. What I am looking to accomplish is for a led it come on when the winning car blocks the light from the photo resistor. However, I do not what the led to come on when the losing car blocks its photo resistor (this is the part that has me stumped both cars get a light coming on).

Thank you in advance.

John

Updated 4-2-2015
Almost there. Got the phototransistors working and learned about subroutines. I'm just having problems with the subroutines executing properly. Any help would be appreciated.

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

'Declare variables
Counter VAR Word 'Defines variable as word

PAUSE 1000 'Initial 1 second pause
DEBUG "Program Running!", CR 'Display "Program Running"

'

'Switch control
DO
DEBUG ? IN0
PAUSE 20
IF (IN0 = 1) THEN

'

'Ready set go lights
'FOR counter = 1 TO 1 'Cycle code 1 time

'DEBUG ? counter
HIGH 15 'Red LED on
LOW 14 'Green LED off
LOW 13 'Yellow LED off
PAUSE 2500

FOR counter = 1 TO 3 'Flase Yellow LED 3 times
DEBUG ? counter
LOW 15 'Red LED off
LOW 14 'Green LED off
HIGH 13 'Yellow LED on.
PAUSE 1500
LOW 13 'Blink yellow light 3 times
PAUSE 500
NEXT

HIGH 14 'Green LED on
LOW 15 'Red LED off
LOW 13 'Yellow LED off
PAUSE 2500 'Green LED on for 2.5 seconds
'LOW 14 'Green LED off
'NEXT
'

' Servo Action

FOR counter = 1 TO 50 ' release cars
PULSOUT 12, 1200
PAUSE 20
DEBUG "Release cars", CR

NEXT
PAUSE 1000 ' set car release for 1 second
LOW 14 ' Turn green LED off
FOR counter = 1 TO 50 ' set car release back to hold position
PULSOUT 12, 750
PAUSE 20
DEBUG "Reset car release", CR
NEXT
'

'Which car won
IF IN6 = 0 THEN
GOSUB car1win
DEBUG "back from car1sub"