Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
XBEE I/O line passing and Canon Hack Development Kit demo (video) — Parallax Forums

XBEE I/O line passing and Canon Hack Development Kit demo (video)

Ron CzapalaRon Czapala Posts: 2,418
edited 2015-03-26 15:59 in Accessories
xanadu's panoramic camera project revived my interest in the Canon Hack Development Kit (CHDK).

I wanted to be able to set up a wireless remote sensor which would trigger a shutter release of the camera when movement was detected.

I studied the Martin Hebel and George Bricker "Getting Started with XBEE RF Modules" tutorial to refresh my XBEE knowledge and recalled the XBEE "I/O Line Passing" feature.
You can set up virtual wires between XBee / XBee-PRO Modules. When an RF data packet is received
that contains I/O data, the receiving module can be setup to update any enabled outputs (PWM and
DIO) based on the data it receives.

I decided to experiment with XBEE I/O Line Passing in junction with CHDK and created a little video of the result.

I used X-CTU to configue the "Base" and "Remote" XBEEs to use two of the digital I/O pins and control two LEDs and also release the camera shutter via the USB Remote cable on the "Base" XBEE.

Neither XBEE in this demo is connected to a microcontroller but I would probably use a propeller and motion sensor to set the input pins on the remote XBEE causing the camera to snap a picture.

Luckily I found an instructables project with example XBEE settings. That person used a servo along with a shutter release cable rather than running CHDK on the camera.

NOTE: I am using Parallax 5V / 3.3V XBEE adapters but the I/O lines (jumpers, LEDs and USB camera cable) are using 3.3V.

(To view in 1080P HD, watch on Youtube)

Comments

• Ron CzapalaRon Czapala Posts: 2,418
    edited 2015-10-02 22:29
    Here are the XBEE settings I used for the I/O Line Passing demo

CORRECTED
    IO1.jpg
    edited 2015-10-02 22:32