Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
"Proxie" a tele-existence robot with the Propeller — Parallax Forums

"Proxie" a tele-existence robot with the Propeller

egenrietheregenriether Posts: 29
edited 2015-04-03 12:14 in Robotics
Proxie is a tele-existence robot I made with the Propeller (or a couple of them anyways) It's my first project with the Propeller and I've been at it for about 2 years on and off. It is still *very much* in progress, I'd say it's getting to the half-way finished mark. It still needs arms, of which I have a mock-up working now. It also needs an articulating post on which it will stand (currently just wooden 2 x 4s) The body, head, and helmet are made from a lightweight epoxy I use for most projects. The head tracking is done with my hacked up version of Jason Dorie's awesome DCM code he posted a couple years ago (Thanks again Jason, you're the man!)
The robot has 3-D (stereoscopic) video and audio wirelessly transmitted to a "ground station" which the helmet plugs into. It's controlled by Xbee (API) signals from the helmet and remote, both of which talk to the same antenna on the robot
Here's a quick look:

If you want to see pictures of the build, they are on my website:

http://www.egenriether.com/proxie.html