Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can this be done with Parallax? — Parallax Forums

Can this be done with Parallax?

duBe68duBe68 Posts: 7
edited 2015-03-18 12:38 in Robotics
Hello,
I have no experience at all with micro controllers & only brief experience with wiring up electronics / & some low-level programming, so please accept my apologies up-front.

I have a need to create a device that:
a. Has ONE (1) incoming RS232 port
b. Has FOUR (4) separate outgoing RS232 ports
c. "reads" an incoming RS232 stream,
d. look at the first 2 Bytes of info
e. check for the "address" (2nd byte)
f. if it is addressed "FF 01 .........", forward the complete original data out PORT 1 ONLY
g. if it is addressed "FF 02 ........." re-address the data to "FF 01 ........" and forward the complete data out PORT 2 ONLY
h. if it is addressed "FF 03 ........." re-address the data to "FF 01 ........" and forward the complete data out PORT 3 ONLY
i. if it is addressed "FF 04 ........." re-address the data to "FF 01 ........" and forward the complete data out PORT 4 ONLY

Attached is a drawing of this for those who are more "visual" like me.

PelcoD---prototype_small.jpg

The baud rate is 9600, 8, N, 1 (no flow control), if that helps.

Is this possible with the parallex? (i've been advised elsewhere this may be the best choice for what I want to achieve)
If so, would anyone be willing to "tutor" me in learning how to get this done?

If not, would anyone be able to suggest a more suitable platform to achieve it?

This is what I know about the Pelco D protocol (thanks to CommFront - http://www.commfront.com/RS232_Examples/CCTV/Pelco_D_Pelco_P_Examples_Tutorial.HTM )

The format of Pelco-D
Pelco-D consists of 7 hexadecimal bytes (all byte data used in this page are in Hexadecimal format unless otherwise specified).
Byte 1 Sync
Byte 2 Camera Address
Byte 3 Command 1
Byte 4 Command 2
Byte 5 Data 1
Byte 6 Data 2
Byte 7 Checksum

Byte 1 (Sync) - the synchronization byte, fixed to FF