Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Building Scientific Instruments with the Propeller — Parallax Forums

Building Scientific Instruments with the Propeller

RJSMRJSM Posts: 68
edited 2015-06-23 00:44 in Propeller 1
For many years I’ve quietly watched these forums with great interest (and I’m yet another Aussie !!). I’ve keenly followed the development of the P1 and then the P2; the problems with the latter it seems may have led some forum members to lose interest and perhaps go elsewhere.

I’d like to echo the positive comments of others that the P1 has been and still is a fantastic development platform and this seems like the perfect time to inject something completely new into this forum.

I’m a chemical physicist with 25+ years in academia. Tiring of university life I moved into the corporate sector with a major scientific instrument company about 4 years ago. I’ve been building scientific instruments since long before the P1 was released (in fact as far back as the late 70’s/early 80’s when I was a grad student at Cornell and postdoc at Stanford) - but nearly all of my recent projects have used the Propeller chip.

In my instruments, Propeller-based hardware teams up with a LabVIEWTM PC-based front end, giving a high quality GUI. For me, the synergy of those two tools comes close to nirvana for rapid development of easy-to-use scientific instruments rivalling the performance of commercial products – but at typically 1/10-1/100 the cost. That’s potentially great news for educators with large teaching labs but small budgets.