Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
TRYING TO CREATE A 4-BIT BINARY COUNTER FROM A CLOCK PULSE. — Parallax Forums

TRYING TO CREATE A 4-BIT BINARY COUNTER FROM A CLOCK PULSE.

shopshop Posts: 3
edited 2015-01-02 12:30 in BASIC Stamp
I created a TTL circuit using a 74193 (up/down counter) using a external clock pulse. The binary output of the 74193 is wired to a 74154 (one of sixteen decoder). The output of the 74154 is connected to 16 LEDs.

It works fine using these TTL logic IC's to control the count out of the 74154. My external clock pulse is derived from audio that is from a Schmitt trigger circuit to make it a clock pulse into the 74193.

I now want to use the Basic Stamp 2 to perform the same function, and I have run into problems programming the Basic Stamp to do this. I want the Basic Stamp to "simulate" the 74193.
I am new to the Basic Stamp, and it is not working exactly like the TTL circuit, meaning the output of the Basic Stamp binary count is to only change with the transition (low to high) of the external clock pulse.
any solutions anyone?

Comments

• Hal AlbachHal Albach Posts: 747
    edited 2014-12-23 13:16
    Can you post what you have so far?
  • tomcrawfordtomcrawford Posts: 1,126
    edited 2014-12-23 13:28
    shop wrote: »
    I created a TTL circuit using a 74193 (up/down counter) using a external clock pulse. The binary output of the 74193 is wired to a 74154 (one of sixteen decoder). The output of the 74154 is connected to 16 LEDs.

I
    I am new to the Basic Stamp, and it is not working exactly like the TTL circuit, meaning the output of the Basic Stamp binary count is to only change with the transition (low to high) of the external clock pulse.
    any solutions anyone?

So you have to keep track of whether you have counted "this" positive transition. An easy way to do that is to, after you have incremented your counter, wait until you see the negative transition. For extra credit, implement the up/down function.