Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New here. Getting Activity Bot For Christmas — Parallax Forums

New here. Getting Activity Bot For Christmas

Tony 4dTony 4d Posts: 45
edited 2015-01-08 08:36 in Robotics
Hi all, first post here. My wife is getting me an Activity Bot for Christmas, and I have some questions already.....LOL.

1. Is the Activity Bot a good choice for someone just getting into robotics?
2. How difficult is the build? Many years ago I did successfully build a HeathKit Hero1 robot, but that was some 40 years ago.
3. I do have some electronics knowledge as I'm a home hobbyist, but no "c" programming experience. I did want a platform that was expandable, and programmable.
4. Any links to getting started would be great.

Thanks.

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2014-12-22 06:17
    Welcome to the forums Tony. I'm not into robots myself but someone more knowledgeable will be along to point out the way to get started. You'll find this to be a very friendly and helpfull place.
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2014-12-22 06:19
    Tony 4d wrote: »
    Hi all, first post here. My wife is getting me an Activity Bot for Christmas, and I have some questions already.....LOL.

Absolutely. Possibly the best[/b/] choice, not just a good one.

2. How difficult is the build? Many years ago I did successfully build a HeathKit Hero1 robot, but that was some 40 years ago.

I haven't actual built an Activity Bot from a kit myself. Mine is an upgraded BOE-Bot.

Parallax excels at tutorials. There are step by step instructions for building the AB and I understand it's easy than it used to be since they now include a little Delrin wrench to make it easy to hold nuts in place.
    3. I do have some electronics knowledge as I'm a home hobbyist, but no "c" programming experience. I did want a platform that was expandable, and programmable.