Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Elev8 first flight-pack voltage — Parallax Forums

Elev8 first flight-pack voltage

icepuckicepuck Posts: 466
edited 2014-12-29 10:15 in Robotics
I finally had my first test flight for about 5 minutes late last night.. and that brings up a few questions about the parallax 3300mAh battery pack. And the start of many more to come as I put in more flight time.

What are the charging rates/settings I should use for the TB6B charger?

Whats a safe fast or slow charge?

How long of flight time should I get from said pack? Once fully charged.

What is the lowest pack voltage I can go down to without killing the pack?
I plan on getting the telemetry module for my dx8 to read voltage and maybe temp.

As you can see(or read) I'm new to the taking care of/feeding of LiPo's.
-dan

Comments

• xanaduxanadu Posts: 3,347
    edited 2014-12-22 20:02
    Use lipo charge with manual amps, that pack charges at 1C, so 3.3 amps. 1C is usually a safe charge rate for any pack. Always read the specs for yourself though - http://www.parallax.com/product/752-00010

Not sure on flight time. The lipo alarm will tell you what your flight time is, then you can setup a timer on your transmitter to back it up. http://www.parallax.com/product/752-00014

I do not go lower than 3.6v on the lowest cell while flying, the packs will survive more cycles if you don't go too low. Make sure you're using a lipo monitor while flying. The voltage will be a lot lower in flight than on the ground. Testing the pack while it is "resting" doesn't do much good and will usually be at least .5v higher than when you're in the air. Put the pack at storage voltage if you don't plan on using it for a few days.