Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PICAXE 18M+ and MMA7455 3-Axis Accelerometer Module — Parallax Forums

PICAXE 18M+ and MMA7455 3-Axis Accelerometer Module

PicAxePicAxe Posts: 4
edited 2014-12-04 14:55 in Accessories
Hi all, I am new to PICAXE and PARALLAX and trying to learn how to use the I2C bus to talk to a MMA7455 Accelerometer with a PICAXE 18M+. Probably not the easiest thing for a newbie to try, but, like the idea of using communications. As I have never used Arduino or any other platform, trying with Picaxe Basic programming as that is what I have been using. Please, does anyone have a routine written in Basic that I can use to start with to read the X, Y and Z axis and use. Finally have the DEBUG function and cable working with the picaxe so now looking forward to trying this then other parallax modules. Just need help to get my first I2C away and understand the process. Yes, I am about a one week novice, but want to get my teeth into this thing and the few routines I wrote seem to do nothing, so prefer a baseline to modify, all help appreciated.Next will be the Sensor Sampler Pack if I can just get this worked out.

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2014-12-02 08:42
    The answer to your poll question "Is I2C better than SPI" is " it depends on the application". I2C (Inter Integrated Circuit) is a simple hardware connection intended for 2 chips to be able to communicate. SPI (Serial Peripheral Interface ) is a serial bus system used mainly to connect multiple peripheral chips to a microcontroller.
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-12-02 08:48
    Welcome to the forums.

You can try and adapt the BasicStamp Basic program to the PICAXE.

http://www.parallax.com/downloads/mma7455-3-axis-accelerometer-basic-stamp-demo-code

Although someone here might be versed with PICAXE, these forums cater to Parallax microcontrollers.
  • GordonMcCombGordonMcComb Posts: 3,366
    edited 2014-12-02 09:39