Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Multiple ColorPals on single Arduino board — Parallax Forums

Multiple ColorPals on single Arduino board

EriolEriol Posts: 4
edited 2014-12-05 06:02 in Accessories
Hello,

I'm relatively new to electronics and using this more as a learning experience, but now I'm testing an array of 3 ColorPals with Arduino boards (namely the Uno and Mega) as a learning experience. I've been able to successfully run the demo over at the learn page with a single sensor with both boards. http://learn.parallax.com/colorpal-arduino-demo
Now, I have a Mega that has 3 UARTs and I've also found this post in the forums, but I'm unsure of how it would work with Arduino. http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php/120828-help-colorpal-sensor?p=890040#post890040
I also saw the documentation stating you can put an "address" to each device but I'm also unsure of how that would work.
I know you can "bit-bang" with the SoftwareSerial library but kind of unsure of the procedure of resetting into Direct Mode, etc, for all three of the sensors.

Can I do it with SoftwareSerial and a single pin? How?
How would I be able to run all three ColorPals to give me the same information from the single sensor sketch, but for every sensor, on an Arduino?

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2014-11-28 06:50
    If you are placing each of the ColorPals on separate uarts there is no need to change the ColorPal addresses. If you want to run all 3 ColorPals on a single uart you will need to change the address on 2 of them so each one has a unique address. Changing the address should be explained in the documentation.
  • GordonMcCombGordonMcComb Posts: 3,366
    edited 2014-11-28 10:19
    With SoftwareSerial you can only listen to one port at a time. You can have separate ColorPALs on separate pins, but you can only fetch data from one of them at a time. Look at the SoftwareSerial documentation for the listen method.