Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reduce power / resistors + replace clip-battery homework board — Parallax Forums

Reduce power / resistors + replace clip-battery homework board

fuichrisfuichris Posts: 26
edited 2014-11-12 07:10 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,
I've done the Advanced Search and Support FAQ and still uncertain, hope to get your help.

(Q #1) HOW TO REDUCE THE VOLTAGE?
I'm trying to figure out why the voltage of my load (in this photos below, just +- wires attached to my multimeter), doesn't go down when I use resistors? My project is just an on/off with the MOSFET and involves simply putting heat to the flexinol muscle wire (see drawing), so I need to reduce the voltage because it keeps burning the wire out. See all the visual explanations... I'm a newbie ;p

Please see below:
- circuit diagram (hopefullly correct)
- illustrated set-up
- photo of setup
Pforum - SETUP FULL - MOSFIT RESISTOR issues - 11nov14-a.jpg

Circuit diagram 1 - 12nov14-01.jpg

RESISTORS -NONE- test photo 1.jpg
RESISTORS - ALL -  test photo 1.jpg

DETAILS:
- MOSFET N-channel (IRLB8721PbF)
- BS2 Homework Board (9V clip batt)
- External Battery = 9V ac/dc adapter to wall

(Q#2) REPLACE BOARD BATTERY
I wanted to remove the 9V battery clipped to the homework board that activates the microcontroller because the project needs to run indefinitely. The External Battery will already be a AC to a wall, so I can't use another AC to the wall for the microcontroller. Any advice?

HELLLLPPPPPP ! Thanks folks!

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2014-11-12 06:07
    With only the multimeter as a load, you will not see any appreciable change in voltage. You're just not drawing enough current.

The resistor should go in the MOSFET Drain Lead. You want the MOSFET Source lead directly to negative in most cases.