Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Power Wheels conversion to RC car — Parallax Forums

Power Wheels conversion to RC car

!Tom!!Tom! Posts: 2
edited 2014-11-01 14:25 in Robotics
Hello,

I am a student working with a group to design and construct our senior capstone project. We plan to take a Power Wheel children's battery power car and turn it into a RC car with some bells and whistles. We are still in the planning and beginning of the design stage and I am looking for some insight on the best way to do things. The 10,000 foot view consists of 3 major components: a wireless camera mounted to the vehicle to allow for remote operation, a GUI application to display the camera view along with vehicle speed, RPM, remaining battery life, and with any luck a GPS position overlaid on a local map, and the vehicle itself. In doing preliminary research I found that Parallax seems to offer the various hardware needed to create this thing. On the vehicle I think (looking for suggestions) we will need a PWM controller like the HB-25 to control the speed of the existing DC motor. Possibly a Hall affect sensor to measure RPM, a stepper of servo motor to integrate into the steering and a controller for it, a GPS, ultrasonic sensors to use for anti-collision detection, a wireless camera, and a micro-controller to handle I/O's. The GUI application would run on a laptop or tablet (depending on the available ports) and a game controller would be used to control the vehicle from the same location as the laptop.