Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which XBee module to use for a button to turn on an led. — Parallax Forums

Which XBee module to use for a button to turn on an led.

edited 2014-10-14 09:42 in Accessories
Hello,

For the application of having a communication system in a closed space where sound isn't an option, I'd like to use different colored leds as indicators of various actions.

I'm new to the RF world, but would like to know what the best XBee module(s) would be to use to turn on an led(s) from a distance with the press of a button(s). Just need a one way comm .. preferably with a signal strength indicator on the TX end
I'm thinking a small form factor where everything is enclosed on the transmitter end, like a keyfob.... and the RX end to have 4 leds.
Would this be doable with a Teensy as the microcontroller?

What can you recommend for the XBee ? For the range, I would like it to be a minimum of say 400 ft, in a noisy football field. Mainly LOS.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2014-10-14 08:58
    Hello,

For the application of having a communication system in a closed space where sound isn't an option, I'd like to use different colored leds as indicators of various actions.

I'm new to the RF world, but would like to know what the best XBee module(s) would be to use to turn on an led(s) from a distance with the press of a button(s). Just need a one way comm .. preferably with a signal strength indicator on the TX end

XBees are transceivers which can both transmit and receive. There are one way devices like this one (probably my top recommendation for this project) but the TX end can't know the signal strength on the RX end without two way communication.
    I'm thinking a small form factor where everything is enclosed on the transmitter end, like a keyfob.... and the RX end to have 4 leds.