Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ELEV-8 vision control — Parallax Forums

ELEV-8 vision control

Raphael LinkerRaphael Linker Posts: 7
edited 2014-09-03 13:13 in Robotics
I am looking for a small Quadcopter for a student project. Basically we would like to maintain the Quadcopter hovering at a fixed position relative to a moving object (such as a slow-moving vehicle). The position of the Quadcopter will be controlled via images recorded by a video camera mounted on the Quadcopter. Initially the image will be tranferred to a PC via a cable (so transmission rate won't be an issue). The PC will analyze the video stream in realtime and generate control signals (left, right, up down, ...) that will be sent to the Quadcopter. Is this something we will be able to do with the ELEV-8? Has anyone done somehting similar? I work on control systems and automation but I have no previous experience with Quadcopters and the main "unknown" for me is how will the command signals generated by the PC be transmitted to the Quadcopter? Is the ELEV-8 system open enough to do this? Is an open application or SDK that enables a PC to be used as a remote control for the ELEV-8 available?
Thanks
Raphael

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2014-09-03 13:13