Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
parallax sumobot or fingertech cobra — Parallax Forums

parallax sumobot or fingertech cobra

lumpuslumpus Posts: 2
edited 2014-08-21 00:58 in Learn with BlocklyProp
so I am brand new to the sumo and wondering where I should start out

there is a parallax sumobot for sale on ebay for a reasonable price, everything included
but I also found this fingertech cobra chassis that looks like a better deal
I heard that you can not scale the parallax, and the cobra would have an arduino board

can anyone give me some advice?

thanks

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2014-08-16 11:16
    It would have been helpful to have included links to the products you're asking about.

I did look up the Fingertech Cobra and it looks pretty cool. If I were only concerned about the hardware, I think I'd go with the Cobra over a Sumobot. However, if you want to learn about robotics, no one makes educational material as good as Parallax.

If learning about robotics is your goal, then there's an easy answer, get something with a Propeller. If you finances allow, get an ActivityBot but even if you don't get an ActivityBot, get a Propeller board and turn whatever has a pair (or more) of motors into a robot.

Here's my "Ode of a Propeller Fan Boy" I wrote over on Let's Make Robots.
    Since you're asking, I'll throw in my two cents worth of advice (I'll even wave the fee).I'm a big fan of the Propeller chip. It has eight "cogs" (processors) and can make a lot of tasks which would be difficult to perform on an Arduino easy to write by combining a few "objects" (libraries). What is so nice about the Propeller is the various objects generally don't get in each others way. I've seen many Arduino projects mention needing to find some work around to use a servo because the normal library uses an interrupt which is already being used by some other device such as an encoder.