Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Elev-8 DX8 — Parallax Forums

Elev-8 DX8

msh5686msh5686 Posts: 70
edited 2014-08-13 12:19 in Robotics
Hi all,

So I am new to rc, but have finished and promptly crashed my elev8. I feel like i barely touched the controls and the thing responded to such small corrections, I quickly lost control(I have now purchased a simulator for practice). I've read a lot about gain settings, but am a little confused. I am using a DX8 controller and don't see gain in the menu. Is this akin to throttle curve? Can anyone please provide me with some suggested beginner settings for the DX8, in DX8 settings term? Also, I have read that for a quad, the controller setting should be left as a fixed-wing airplane... Is this correct?

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2014-07-18 21:01
    Yes, the configuration should be identical to airplane.

You should start with the gain (gear channel 5) being set at about 25% on both sides of the switch. This is an input to the Hoverfly's control system PID loop.

If the ELEV-8 responded the way it should, just aggressively, then you're probably correctly configured. What I suggest is that you put the aileron and elevator throws at 40% to soften the control system and try again.

Do you need some spare parts? Let me know and I'll send them over. We'll get you in the air and you'll stay there.

Ken Gracey
  • msh5686msh5686 Posts: 70
    edited 2014-07-18 21:54
    Hi, Ken,