Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
programming the basic stamp with keypad to be able to read and write 00-99 — Parallax Forums

programming the basic stamp with keypad to be able to read and write 00-99

paulvalpaulval Posts: 13
edited 2014-08-19 08:13 in BASIC Stamp
I am quite new at programming and I am using the program for the keypad. The program only reads 0-9 and a-d and i want to be able to read and write 00-99 a 2 digit number.
any help will be appreciated.

Thank You,

Paul

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2014-07-14 09:31
    Paul,

Please link to the code you're referring to, attach it, or post it in code tags so others can see what you're referring to. Also you should link the keypad being used as well.
    edited 2014-07-14 10:14
    attachment.php?attachmentid=78421&d=1297987572
  • paulvalpaulval Posts: 13
    edited 2014-07-15 09:45
    I am using the 27899, 4x4 Matrix-keypad_demo.bs2

I apologize since I am very new but I will be getting better as I use this web-site an well as learning programming.

Thank You,

Paul A. Valdez
  • AribaAriba Posts: 2,687
    edited 2014-07-16 18:44
    Hello Paul

I have no BS2 to try, and also not much expirience with the BasicStamp, but here is a code-fragment that should build a 2 digit dec from two keypresses.
    If I understand the ReadKeypad subroutine right it returns a 16bit value where each bit stands for a pressed key.
    The GetDecKey subroutine waits until all keys are released and then a new key is pressed. Then the key value is decoded:
    With NCD keypad you get a number 1..16 for the key, and the LOOKUP reads the corresponding dec value for the key from a table (0..9).
    value VAR Word

DO
      GOSUB WaitDecKey
      value = keypad
      GOSUB WaitDecKey
      value = value * 10 + keypad
      DEBUG value, CR
    LOOP

WaitDecKey:
      DO
        GOSUB ReadKeypad
      LOOP UNTIL keypad = 0
      DO
        GOSUB ReadKeypad