Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New to forum... Just purchased an Activity Bot! — Parallax Forums

New to forum... Just purchased an Activity Bot!

debrentdebrent Posts: 12
edited 2014-07-14 20:08 in Robotics
Hi everyone. My name is Don and I live in Phoenix, AZ. I am an embeded systems software engineer for a large avionics company and work mostly in C, C++ and Python. This will be my first robot. At my job when we are developing a new piece of avionics equipment, I usually only see a small part of the overall development effort. I decided to build an autonomous robot as a means to sharpen my embedded programming skills and also to get a feel for what it's like to develop something from start to finish. Also, it's just a cool little robot!!! Anyway, I look forward to sharing this experience with all of you and I'm sure I'll have a few questions along the way.

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-07-13 09:00
    Welcome to the forum Don!

Great group of guys here.

I'm sure you already know about the Learn site:

http://learn.parallax.com/activitybot

It is updated constantly.

Good place to flex your C muscles. :)

Jim
  • George SuttonGeorge Sutton Posts: 180
    edited 2014-07-13 10:07
    debrent wrote: »
    Hi everyone. My name is Don and I live in Phoenix, AZ. I am an embeded systems software engineer for a large avionics company and work mostly in C, C++ and Python. This will be my first robot. At my job when we are developing a new piece of avionics equipment, I usually only see a small part of the overall development effort. I decided to build an autonomous robot as a means to sharpen my embedded programming skills and also to get a feel for what it's like to develop something from start to finish. Also, it's just a cool little robot!!! Anyway, I look forward to sharing this experience with all of you and I'm sure I'll have a few questions along the way.