Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS1 version of Do...Loop...? — Parallax Forums

BS1 version of Do...Loop...?

ppillardppillard Posts: 22
edited 2014-07-21 19:24 in BASIC Stamp
Hello All! I'm a relative noob, here, so please load up on your patience before you proceed. :)

So I built a simple remote start relay system for my old truck. I developed it on my trusty BS2 Homework Board, using a Parallax key fob remote. Once I had the code working with some simple LED's to indicate the vehicle was trying to start and I could lock/unlock the doors, I settled in and ordered my relays and such. To minimize power requirements, I opted for a BS1 module. This is the first time I have played with a BS1 at all.

Imagine my disappointment when the BS1 module and development board arrived and I tried to upload my code to it, only to find that the BS1 doesn't support a Do...Loop?!

Surely the BS1 has a version of Do...Loop?

Comments

• ppillardppillard Posts: 22
    edited 2014-07-08 18:18
    Looking at the help documentation. Do I really have to create a FOR...NEXT function that constantly increments and decrements to create a pseudo LOOP function?
  • PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2014-07-08 19:19
    ppillard wrote: »
    Looking at the help documentation. Do I really have to create a FOR...NEXT function that constantly increments and decrements to create a pseudo LOOP function?

"a pseudo LOOP"?.
    You could branch to a subroutine based on the status of a flag.
  • davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2014-07-08 19:34
    ppillard,

How are you using the DO..LOOP? If it's for nothing more than to create a continuously executing section of code, why not use a GOTO..LABEL?

People frown using the GOTO statement in general, but sometimes "ya gotta do what ya gotta do".
    edited 2014-07-09 04:18