Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax Propeller SimpleIDE Terminal Simulator no propeller chip on port error — Parallax Forums

Parallax Propeller SimpleIDE Terminal Simulator no propeller chip on port error

programmeristprogrammerist Posts: 6
edited 2014-09-02 03:37 in General Discussion
hi; i am new for parallax propeller. i try to learn it. i checked your samples

#include "simpletools.h" // Include simpletools header


int main() // main function
{


print("Hello!!!"); // Display a message
}



But it creates this error: no propeller chip on port 'COM2' How can i solve it?



7-2-2014 2-03-15 PM.png
692 x 203 - 13K

Comments

  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-07-02 05:28
    Welcom to the forum!

    In the upper right of SimpleIDE, there is a drop down for the COM Ports.
    You must select the COM Port for your board, (it is not auto detect yet)
  • Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2014-07-02 05:29
    hi; i am new for parallax propeller. i try to learn it. i checked your samples

    #include "simpletools.h" // Include simpletools header


    int main() // main function
    {


    print("Hello!!!"); // Display a message
    }



    But it creates this error: no propeller chip on port 'COM2' How can i solve it?



    7-2-2014 2-03-15 PM.png

    Welcome to the Propeller and the forums Yusuf, the only problem I can see is that you have specified COM2 but normally IIRC Windows reserves the first four coms ports for real RS232 ports but the USB ones will be allocated each own ports for every different device. You can open device manager and check that you have the right serial port. I just checked a win7 machine and it has a port on COM53.
  • programmeristprogrammerist Posts: 6
    edited 2014-07-02 07:25
    i have only COM2 port :(
    7-2-2014 4-24-13 PM.png
    264 x 132 - 9K
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-07-02 07:48
    Is that what shows up with the USB cable plugged into the Propeller Board? If not, check it again with the Propeller Board plugged in to the USB Port.

    If it does not show up, unplug the USB from the Propeller Board, and reload the FTDI Drivers:

    http://www.parallax.com/downloads/parallax-usb-driver-installer

    Then try again.

    What Platform are you on? PC or MAC?
  • programmeristprogrammerist Posts: 6
    edited 2014-07-02 08:44
    First of all; i have been testting simpleIDE as a simulator. i dont have any tool. i have a pc. Error is the same. By the way i made lots of googling. Thanks...
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-07-02 09:02
    If you don't have any Propeller hardware, I believe you can build an *.elf file using the Hammer Tool. It does not need a hardware connection as far as I know.

    What is it you are trying to do in detail?
  • programmeristprogrammerist Posts: 6
    edited 2014-07-02 09:13
    hi;

    i want to see result on Terminal simulator :

    http://learn.parallax.com/propeller-c-set-simpleide
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-07-02 09:40
    hi;

    i want to see result on Terminal simulator :

    http://learn.parallax.com/propeller-c-set-simpleide

    As far as I know, you will need Propeller hardware connected for the terminal to work.

    I am new to C programming, so the more knowledgeable people will need to give you more specifics.
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2014-07-02 11:20
    There is no simulator.

    Maybe we don't understand. What would a "Terminal simulator" do?
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2014-07-02 11:47
    Just to be clear ....

    A "Terminal Emulator" is a program that provides the same interface as a terminal like a VT100 or other terminals from last century.

    That is, a terminal emulator is a program like putty, HyperTerm, CoolTerm, Minicom, etc ... Is that what you mean?

    Do you actually have a Propeller chip on COM2 ? If so, how is it connected?

    Standard COM ports (not USB) will require some hardware interface that is different from the Parallax USB offerings.
  • programmeristprogrammerist Posts: 6
    edited 2014-07-02 12:06
    I don't any parallax tool. I try to understand firstly. I have simple ide. I try to see any result on simulator. Simulator means we don't need any tool. Can I test my c codes without any parallel tool?
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2014-07-02 12:18
    I don't any parallax tool. I try to understand firstly. I have simple ide. I try to see any result on simulator. Simulator means we don't need any tool.


    Ok, SimpleIDE will not be useful without a propeller board. Parallax sells Propeller chips and hardware.

    I've done some research on adding a propeller simulator to SimpleIDE, but it is not finished.

    Can I test my c codes without any parallel tool?


    Not if it's written for Propeller chips.
  • Dave HeinDave Hein Posts: 6,347
    edited 2014-07-02 12:39
    programmerist, if you can run programs from the command line you could test your program out using the spinsim simulator. I believe the executable file is still distributed with the PropGCC tools. Go to a command prompt window, and try typing spinsim. If this works you can used SimpleIDE to build a binary file using the F9 key or clicking on the hammer icon. Then from a command prompt window you would need to go into the directory where the *.side file is located, and then go into the cmm or lmm directory depending on which memory model you used. This directory will contain the elf and binary files. You would then type "spinsim -b filename.binary" to run it. After the program runs you need to type control-C to get out of spinsim.
  • programmeristprogrammerist Posts: 6
    edited 2014-07-03 00:30
    So, what do i need to start parallax propeller? you have lots of tools. But i can not choose. Can you give me some advises to choose correct way? By the way, thanks for your replies....
  • twm47099twm47099 Posts: 867
    edited 2014-07-03 10:57
    If you want to learn C, I'd recommend the Activity Bot or the Activity Board (The bot is more expensive, but has many additional components. The reason I recommend those is because the Learn C tutorials use those propeller products. The Quickstart board is an inexpensive way to start, and you can translate the Learn programs to use that, but if you want to run programs with additional components like analog to digital converter, you would have to buy those separately and interface them your self.

    Tom
  • John KauffmanJohn Kauffman Posts: 653
    edited 2014-08-30 18:48
    COM port list: (note for future searchers of fora)
    I've noticed in classes that sometimes it takes 20 seconds for Windows to offer the correct COM port after the Activity Board is turned on or re-connected.

    Starting materials:
    Get the Activity Board for $50 http://www.parallax.com/product/32910. That board will give you learning options for a long time. It can be powered for most lessons from the computer. It has some cool things built-in like audio amplifier and SD card reader.

    Use it to do on-line tutorial: "Learn C" http://learn.parallax.com/propellerc. In first few lessons you will learn how to put data onto a PC screen.

    If you have another $30 get the parts kit for Whats a Microcontroller. http://www.parallax.com/product/28122 (*Parts kit #28122, not the whole package part #28152). But if budget and international shipping is a problem you can locally get many of those same parts for the first dozen exercises. Then you can buy from Parallax more specific devices for your projects.

    There is a lesson on servos. Those devices might be hard to find locally. Even though it might be hard/expensive I recommend that you get them from Parallax because there are different types and all Plax code is based on one of their 3 types. *** you will need a 6 volt source to use a servo. It will not run from the power supply through USB ***

    One more note: If you do the tutorial "Learn C with Propeller" and have a general syntax question you can usually find it already answered on Stack Overflow. When you get to specifics of certain devices or Prop cogs then do your search through these fora.

    Good luck. Post your questions here.
  • lightbringerlightbringer Posts: 10
    edited 2014-09-01 17:27
    I was having and I am still having the same problem - [FONT=Noto Sans, Calibri, sans-serif]error no propeller chip on port. However today out of no where it just came through and said hello. I went wow and yeah then message came up checking ram and the terminal filled up with some code which seem to beg me to respond with ok. I select ok. Poof I get the [/FONT]error no propeller chip on port again. I'm back to where I started.
  • NWCCTVNWCCTV Posts: 3,629
    edited 2014-09-01 18:13
    Does it give you the option to "Edit Ports" If so, select that, select apply and try again. If it comes and goes, check your cable and connection. I have the same issue on my Netbook because of an over used USB port.

    EDIT: Never mind. That is in Spin Tool!!!
  • lightbringerlightbringer Posts: 10
    edited 2014-09-01 20:49
    I was having and I am still having the same problem - <font color="#333333" face="Noto Sans, Calibri, sans-serif"><span style="font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">error no propeller chip on port. However today out of no where it just came through and said hello. I went wow and yeah then message came up checking ram and the terminal filled up with some code which seem to beg me to respond with ok. I select ok. Poof I get the error no propeller chip on port again.I'm back to where I started.
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2014-09-01 20:54
    I went wow and yeah then message came up checking ram and the terminal filled up with some code which seem to beg me to respond with ok. I select ok. Poof I get the error no propeller chip on port again.I'm back to where I started.


    What happens if you turn the board power off, then on, and immediately try programming when the port becomes available?

    What board are you using? What kind of PC do you use?
  • NWCCTVNWCCTV Posts: 3,629
    edited 2014-09-01 21:28
    @@jazzed, lightbringer is all over the place on the Forum and has asked this exact question in several old threads.
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-09-02 03:37
    I was having and I am still having the same problem - <font color="#333333" face="Noto Sans, Calibri, sans-serif"><span style="font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">error no propeller chip on port. However today out of no where it just came through and said hello. I went wow and yeah then message came up checking ram and the terminal filled up with some code which seem to beg me to respond with ok. I select ok. Poof I get the error no propeller chip on port again.I'm back to where I started.

    Cross posting is not allowed in the forums

    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php/134682-Forum-Guidelines

    You need to start your own thread with your problems. With your 5 posts in five different threads, you, and others, will not be able to follow the progress
Sign In or Register to comment.