Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Recommendations on sensing water temperature using a BS2(solar hot water application) — Parallax Forums

Recommendations on sensing water temperature using a BS2(solar hot water application)

tentoes1tentoes1 Posts: 9
edited 2014-07-03 01:53 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all:

I am new to the world of microcontrollers and I am in the initial stages of designing an active solar hot water heater that uses a BS2 as the brains. I know that there are very simple designs but I wanted this one to be more robust and that can handle situations like if no hot water is used (doesn't overheat), etc. Basically sweat-soldered copper pipe as the collector, with a pump that switches based on water temperature. The solar-heated water then feeds a separate heat-exchange tank before the water enters a regular hot water heater.

What recommendations do you have as the temperature sensor/method? I envision just using a thermistor and measuring the RC time constant using the stamp. What problems/issues do you see in this?

Comments

• 72sonett72sonett Posts: 82
    edited 2014-06-29 14:12
    I would use an ADC like an MCP3204 to measure temperature in the solar collector and the temp in the boiler. Obviously if the temp in the collector (outside) is lower than the temp in the boiler, then you do not need to switch the pump on.
    As you mentioned, if the temp in the boiler is at or above a high limit you do not want to heat it up any more, so the pump stays off.
    Also, you may want to measure the water level in the boiler, that should not be below a certain level.
    I would also add an LCD to show status and temperatures etc.

These limit conditions pretty much determine your program, in pseudo code;
    DO
         measure boiler temp
         measure collector temp
         measure water level
         message "boiler temp", "collector temp"
         IF boiler temp > high limit THEN pump off, message "boiler temp high"