Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 Sample Code for Ping/IR Sensors... — Parallax Forums

BS2 Sample Code for Ping/IR Sensors...

ppillardppillard Posts: 22
edited 2014-05-13 14:19 in BASIC Stamp
Hi. Brace yourselves: Noob here :).

Been dabbling into the BS2 pool and having a great time with it. Really enjoying the "What's a Microcontroller?" Tutorials. Already built a pretty cool automated filtration system managed by a basic stamp to integrate into my alternative fueled truck.

I'm looking into proximity detection now for collision avoidance, and it looks like the dual Ping/IR sensors are gonna be my ticket, however there is no sample code attached to the product sheet (http://www.parallax.com/product/725-28998) like with previous parallax products I have purchased. What am I missing?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2014-05-12 19:55
    The IR distance sensor is an analog output device (see the datasheet for voltage vs. distance curves). Although the BS2 can read analog voltages using the RCTIME statement (see this website for suggestions), you're better off with some kind of external analog to digital converter (ADC) for which there's all sorts of documentation on Parallax's website. I'm not aware of sample code for this combination. I suspect you want to make a reading with the PING, then make a reading with the Sharp sensor and somehow use the two to confirm each other since some objects have a good IR reflection while others have a good ultrasonic reflection. Maybe you'd use the closest reading while the rest of your program would be based on Roaming with the PING.

This dual sensor also doesn't have the ability to scan like the PING with its servo bracket. You have to build your own or turn the entire robot to scan the environment if you want to do that and the existing Roaming with PING software would need some changes for that.