Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller ActivityBoard Quadcopter — Parallax Forums

Propeller ActivityBoard Quadcopter

Dakota WriterDakota Writer Posts: 34
edited 2014-11-03 15:30 in Robotics
Hi all. I'm relatively new to this - this is my first parallax project thread, but I know C pretty well and used the ActivityBot without a problem. Call me Dakota.

So, today I got in parts in for a quadcopter. I hope to keep use this thread to document my progress and request help along the way.

I mostly want the quadcopter to (1) fly - fancy tricks are completely unnecessary, (2) respond to commands, and (3) auto-level, if I can pull that last one off. I think I know how I'm going to it; my thanks to prof_braino and Duane Degn in this thread - my ideas have evolved since then.

The main pieces are as follows...

Quadcopter:
Microcontroller - propeller chip on ActivityBoard
Frame - probably PVC pipe
Power - NIMH rechargeable batteries
Altimeter - PING sensor (when under 10 feet up)
Navigation/orientation - 3-axis compass
Motors - my first question. Despite the advantages of brushless motors, I am pretty decidedly going for a brushed DC motor, possibly with a gearbox. I'd love any recommendations as to which motor I should choose. I already have transistors so that I can step up current from the microcontroller - up to 5 Amps output from the transistors before they burn out.

Remote:
>propeller ActivityBoard
>additional breadboard
>XBee communication module (also on quadcopter)
>2-axis joystick
>pushbuttons for altitude and other adjustments

This project is not going to be an overnight thing - probably will last into the summer.