Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
XMMC Memory model with ActivityBot — Parallax Forums

XMMC Memory model with ActivityBot

djgsi974djgsi974 Posts: 16
edited 2014-03-20 13:45 in Robotics
Hello everybody.

I've spent a little time to learn programming my activitybot with the tutorials related to it.
I love this robot, especially the easy way we can program it. Parallax did a very good job.
Now i would like to make my own program, using and combine all that i've learned.
The problem is that the activitybot as insufficient memory to make all that i want.
So, i've searched for tutorials that explain how to use the xmm memory model, but i didn't find something that is understandable for me (i'm a beginner, sorry).
Is there a tutorial somewhere (or a documentation) that i can use for that ?
Perhaps i must learn Spin, but in that case, where can i find tutorial to learn this language ?
But honestly, I prefer the C language.

Thanks a lot.

Comments

• edited 2014-03-19 13:51
    The current incarnation of XMMC requires that that code for other cogs get executed from Cog RAM. In other words, use COG C or PASM (Propeller assembly language). Most of the code you have been working with launches cogs with code written for the CMM/LMM memory model, which is not compatible. There is a new version of XMMC that will be compatible in development, and we'll post as soon as it's ready for testing, but it'll probably be a while. However, a tutorial on writing COGC libraries will come out pretty soon. Send me a PM if you want to be one of the reviewers.

For prototyping, I'd recommend ditching the abdrive library, and use servodiffdrive.h instead. That should make enough room for your other libraries. The servodiffdrive library doesn't read the encoders, but neither does the Spin version.

To use servodiffdrive: