Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Photoresistor cell — Parallax Forums

Photoresistor cell

noanalystnoanalyst Posts: 7
edited 2014-04-03 11:37 in Accessories
Hi guys & gals,

New to the forum and a complete novice but I want to build or buy a very cheap dime sized photoresistor sensor that reacts to only direct light coming to it. So it will ignore ambient light but only react to light coming directly to it. Is that possible? Which direction should I be heading? I am planning to use this with my kid who loves his led flashlight but I think I can make it more exciting for him.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• PliersPliers Posts: 280
    edited 2014-03-07 18:10
    One way is to use a second photoresistor to measure the ambient light light threshold.
    Or add a tube to the front of the detector, to shield it from ambient light.
  • Dr_AculaDr_Acula Posts: 5,484
    edited 2014-03-07 22:17
    +1 to the idea of adding a tube. I did some experiments once - it is amazing how much light leaks through various materials like black cardboard, black paint, electrical tape, plastic straws etc. A simple metal tube solves the problem - brass, aluminium, whatever you can get. The longer it is, the less sensitive it will be to ambient light.
  • noanalystnoanalyst Posts: 7
    edited 2014-03-08 18:25
    Thanks for the responses. Really like the idea of a tube. Should I just experiment with different lengths to get the right size and distance that blocks out the ambient light. I want to block out all ambient light.
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2014-03-08 21:28
    . I want to block out all ambient light.
    I'm not sure that is possible as there will be light from the front of the tube whenever there is light. You can restrict it to a small amount If this is not good enough you can try modulating the source and the receiver like they do with TV remotes.
  • Bob Lawrence (VE1RLL)Bob Lawrence (VE1RLL) Posts: 1,720
    edited 2014-03-08 22:15