Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Small Stepper Motor powered by Standard Size Battery — Parallax Forums

Small Stepper Motor powered by Standard Size Battery

gyronikeleggyronikeleg Posts: 2
edited 2014-03-03 08:51 in Robotics
Hello!

I am a beginner when it comes to Electromechanical Engineering but I am looking for some help in building an analog clock. The clock needs to be powered by a higher torque (10 in-oz approx.) clock motor because all the standard off the shelf clock motors cannot drive the assembly I have created.

I would like to assemble an arduino with a small stepper motor and power the entire assembly with standard batteries (AA hopefully)

The motor must also have a lengthy battery life

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2014-02-26 21:59
    Welcome and what is your question?
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,255
    edited 2014-02-26 22:00
    I would like to assemble an arduino with a small stepper motor and power the entire assembly with standard batteries

How about asking your question in an Arduino forum? This IS, after all, a Parallax shop.
  • gyronikeleggyronikeleg Posts: 2
    edited 2014-02-28 14:12
    Can I power a small stepper motor with standard size batteries and if so can you recommend one?

Thanks
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,255
    edited 2014-02-28 14:42
    Sure, steppers are cheap and plentiful. http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php/141149
  • Mark_TMark_T Posts: 1,981
    edited 2014-03-03 08:51
    Hello!

I am a beginner when it comes to Electromechanical Engineering but I am looking for some help in building an analog clock. The clock needs to be powered by a higher torque (10 in-oz approx.) clock motor because all the standard off the shelf clock motors cannot drive the assembly I have created.

I would like to assemble an arduino with a small stepper motor and power the entire assembly with standard batteries (AA hopefully)

The motor must also have a lengthy battery life