Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New guy, need password-type assistance — Parallax Forums

New guy, need password-type assistance

BasicCantBasicCant Posts: 6
edited 2014-02-16 09:52 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi everyone,

I searched around the forums and found a lot of incomplete threads that didn't help me too much. I'm pretty new to BS2, and I'm trying to accomplish password storage, and comparison. I am aware of the need for time-outs and other security measures with passwords. I am fairly confident I can work those out on my own once I have the basic password operation working. What I need help with is how to store a string of inputs and compare that to a specified 'correct' string.

I am using a BS2 board and the 4x4 membrane keypad. I have cut out the necessary parts of the keypad example code to begin with. As a reference it is here:
'========= Keypad Password ======================================

password    DATA "1234"
row         VAR  Nib                        ' Variable space for row counting
column      VAR  Nib                        ' Variable space for column counting
keypad      VAR  Word                       ' Variable space to store keypad output
keypadOld   VAR  Word                       ' Variable space to store old keypad output
temp        VAR  Nib                        ' Variable space for polling column states

DEBUG CLS                                   ' Clear Debug Terminal

DO
  GOSUB ReadKeypad                          ' Read keypad button states
  DEBUG HOME, BIN16 keypad, CR, CR,         ' Display 16-bit keypad value
              BIN4 keypad >> 12,CR,         ' Display 1st row 4-bit keypad value
              BIN4 keypad >> 8, CR,         ' Display 2nd row 4-bit keypad value
              BIN4 keypad >> 4, CR,         ' Display 3rd row 4-bit keypad value
              BIN4 keypad                   ' Display 4th row 4-bit keypad value

keypadOld = keypad                        ' Store keypad value in variable keypadOld