Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Emic 2 help. — Parallax Forums

Emic 2 help.

babo18babo18 Posts: 5
edited 2014-04-14 17:55 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, I am new to electronics and I am trying to learn on my own. I do fairly well with th basic stamp basics but need some help with Emic 2 board troubleshooting. I cannot get any output from the Emic2 board. I hooked it up as per the instructions (gnd, 5V, sin, sout, and 2 speaker leads) but get no output. The orange led lights during start up and then the green led stays lit. I am using the sample code from the Parallax Emic2 page for the basic stamp. The program executes but I never see the red led light, so I assume there is no communication between the stamp and Emic2. Below is the program I am using.

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

EmicBaud VAR Word
EMIC_TX PIN 0
EMIC_RX PIN 1
Init:
DEBUG CLS, "Emic 2 Text-to-Speech Module Demonstration", CR, CR
EmicBaud = 16468
SEROUT EMIC_TX, EmicBaud, [CR]
SERIN EMIC_RX, EmicBaud, 5000, No_Response, [WAIT(":")]: DEBUG "Ready!", CR '

Main:
DEBUG "Speaking some text..."
SEROUT EMIC_TX, EmicBaud, ["S", "Hello. My name is the Emic 2 Text-to-Speech module. I would like to sing you a song.", CR]
SERIN EMIC_RX, EmicBaud, [WAIT(":")]
PAUSE 500
SEROUT EMIC_TX, EmicBaud, ["D1", CR]
SERIN EMIC_RX, EmicBaud, [WAIT(":")]
DEBUG CR, "Demonstration complete!"
END
'
[ Subroutines ]
No_Response:
DEBUG "Ending demonstration!"
END

I run the program and I get the message:" Emic 2 Text-to-Speech Module Demonstration", followed by a pause(5000), then the message "Ending demonstration!"
I am using p0 and p1 on the basic stamp. I have reversed these just in case I had them in the wrong place, but the result is still the same. I am not sure what I am doing wrong?
Any help would be greatly appriciated.
Thank You.

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2014-02-08 20:33