Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Technical resources for Scribbler 2 — Parallax Forums

Technical resources for Scribbler 2

paggerspaggers Posts: 5
edited 2014-02-09 07:10 in Robotics
I'm new to the forum (as you can no doubt tell) so hello everyone. I'll start by apologising in case this is one of those questions that has been asked innumerable times but I have spent a fair bit of time searching the forums and the Parallax website and no joy so far. Probably the answer is right under my nose but if so I guess I need someone to push my nose out of the way for me!

Okay, so here is the story. Twenty years ago I did my degree in microelectronics which involved programming microprocessors and microcontrollers to operate robotic systems. We started off programming at low level and worked our way up to languages like C. After leaving university I got interested in C++ and programmed in it as a hobby for quite a few years before other interests pulled me away. Three years ago I bought a Scribbler S2 hoping to interest my son in robotics and programming, but it never really took off so the robot was carefully packaged up and forgotten about.

Now I don't know if it's mid-life crisis or whatever but suddenly I find I want to rediscover my old skills and I have set myself the project of creating (from scratch) a C++ class capable of controlling the S2. It's possible that there is already one out there (although in my research I didn't find one, just the Mypro-C++ one which is for the Scribbler S1 with something called a Fluke attached and so not exactly the same) but anyway the whole point is to create my own as a project. I should also point out that I will be using SimpleIDE on a Mac so even if I wanted to use it the GUI is of no use to me.