Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Two MS5607's on one arduino — Parallax Forums

Two MS5607's on one arduino

gsagersgsagers Posts: 4
edited 2014-02-06 11:58 in Accessories
I'm fairly new to Arduino and the sensor world, but have made a couple of proejcts. My latest idea is to make a 2-zone greenhouse temperarture sensor/logger. I got a good deal on two MS5607 altimeter modules so I plan to use as them as temperature sensors, and either of them works great when connected to an Arduino Leonardo board (specifically, a tinkerkit LCD module). If I connect both to the arduino, neither works.

As near as I can tell, the problem is that both use the same 0x76 address for the I2C bus (verified with an I2C scanner program, one hooked up at a time). Some documentation found around the web suggests that the boards can be changed to use either 0x76 or 0x77, and one post shows a similar 5611 board from a different manufacturer that actually has solder pads to jumper to effect the change. I don't see any way in the datasheet or any place on the boards themselves to change this. Is there a way to change the Parallax mdel so one board uses 0x77?

If that's not possible, I have also seen passing references to "selectively enabling" each device, polling it, and then disabling it to poll the other in software. This would be fine for my purposes, as I only need readings every few minutes. Any suggestions on how to go about selectively enabling?

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-02-03 09:14
    gsagers wrote: »
    I'm fairly new to Arduino and the sensor world, but have made a couple of proejcts. My latest idea is to make a 2-zone greenhouse temperarture sensor/logger. I got a good deal on two MS5607 altimeter modules so I plan to use as them as temperature sensors, and either of them works great when connected to an Arduino Leonardo board (specifically, a tinkerkit LCD module). If I connect both to the arduino, neither works.