Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Interactive targets, novice, advice wanted — Parallax Forums

Interactive targets, novice, advice wanted

wodawoda Posts: 6
edited 2014-02-14 21:51 in BASIC Stamp
Good afternoon,

I am new to the world of do it yourself electronics and only have a little experience programming from high school, so any and all advice is appreciated and helpfull

For this project I have purchased a BS1 Starter kit, 8 buttons (Radio Shack Tact Switch), and 8 LEDs.

The objective is to have 8 targets each with an LED and a button. When the program starts Target 1's LED is illuminated, when button 1 is pressed, the LED shuts off, and one of the other 7 targets lights up (randomly).

The intended application is for a paintball shooting range, to practice my eye hand coordination.

I have a coworker/mentor who has been using Basic stamps for years, who is assisting me with this (my first basic stamp) project. I just want to see if anyone here has a method that he and I have not thought of.

Best regards,
Woda

Comments

• BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2014-01-30 06:44
    Sounds like a cool project.

I assume your paint ball is what will trigger the button ?

It's going to be a little complicated because the BS1 only has 8 I/O pins and you want to connect 8 LEDs and 8 buttons. But a button and a LED can share one I/O pin, but the code is more complex.

Bean
  • GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2014-01-31 04:30
    You could use a 74??138 to select which LED to light up. That will only use 3 IO-pins.

The 138 is a '3 to 8 decoder', so outputting a 3bit binary value to it will activate one of the 8 outputs.

That leaves 5 IO-pins that can be used to read the targets...
    And in fact, you don't need more than one.

Connect the output from the switch together with the output of the 138 to an AND gate, then send every output from the AND to a big OR gate.

Or something like that...
    edited 2014-01-31 05:30