Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
A DMX Forest — Parallax Forums

A DMX Forest

spinefan03spinefan03 Posts: 10
edited 2014-01-29 20:32 in Robotics
Hello everyone.

I have a project that involves DMX controlled trees...

Architectural style lighting of a wooded area, where each tree has a dmx address. Planning to include as upgrades, more led fixtures, additional trees, and wireless touchscreen DMX output device. I will only be using spin. (took too long to learn one language... sight of anything else could make my head explode at this moment.)

I have the general overall idea of how it will be designed, but a couple of things I could use some advice. I have a few years experience tinkering with spin with a handful of proto boards laying around the house. I have built a few projects that are installed in clubs throughout the area, all using modified versions of the available dmx objects. I also work as a system engineer and lighting designer for concerts and events. And I have access to a machine shop through work I do part time as a bronze sculptor. .. I need another project.

PWM Output

USB Project Board sending PWM signal to various led fixtures on the trees. (Large LED Cans at the base, small "limb" LEDs, strobes, etc) Each tree with a separate DMX address and power distribution board for LEDs.

I have not yet tested the number of PWM signals I can send. Only a few pins are needed for the USB and DMX. Is the number of pins capable of sending a PWM signal limited, or is it only limited by the number of pins available?

LED Power