Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax Laser Range Finder — Parallax Forums

Parallax Laser Range Finder

tashworthtashworth Posts: 1
edited 2014-02-24 08:15 in Accessories
Hello! Forgive me, I am an amateur programmer. I have successfully written code to (using mbed micro-controller) to send an ASCI character to the Laser Range Finder (LRF) and have it return and display the distance measured. One of the cool things about this module is that it can also return an image if you send it the particular ASCI character, "G" in this case. I am having trouble figuring out how to store each byte received in a 2D char array for future image processing. Any help would be highly appreciated. Here is what the documentation says about this feature: ("G" refers to the ASCI character sent to the LRF)

G: Capture & send single frame (8 bits/pixel grayscale @ 160x128)
Capture a 160x128 resolution grayscale image with the LRF Module’s camera and return the data in a
binary format.

The data is sent MSB first, one byte per pixel, starting at the upper-left pixel location (0,0), moving left to
right, top to bottom across the frame, and ending at the lower-right pixel location (160,128). Each byte
corresponds to the brightness value of a single pixel where 0x00 is black and 0xFF is white.

A total of 20,480 bytes of binary data is sent. An ASCII footer (“END”) is then attached to the end of the
binary data stream to assist in identifying the end of frame.

Here is my code:
#include "mbed.h"
//Demo program for the Parallax Laser Range Finder

DigitalOut myled(LED1);
Serial pc(USBTX, USBRX);
Serial lrf(p9,p10);

int main() {
char image[127][159]; // size of image 160Wx128H
int row=0;
int col=0;

//Print prompt
    pc.printf("\f\nImage Processing Test\n\r");
//Delay for lrf power on startup
    wait(2.5);
    lrf.baud(115200);

// lrf autobaud setup
    do {
        lrf.putc('U');
        pc.putc('.');
        wait(.2);
        if (lrf.readable()) lrfchar = lrf.getc();