Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Interlink FSR 406 — Parallax Forums

Interlink FSR 406

jason0627jason0627 Posts: 17
edited 2014-01-24 16:56 in Accessories
Hello was wondering if any of you had experience with interlink FSR (force sensing resistors), or other FSR im sure they are pretty similar. I am having a problem using mine reliably.

Here is my set up. pretty sure i did set up A but i am still learning.

rccircuit.gif

this is what i did . capacitor is .1uF

IMG_1578.jpg
IMG_1588.jpg

This is my code

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

'
[ Declarations ]

Force VAR Word ' Stores raw output
sensorPin CON 7
counter VAR Word
'
[ Main Routine ]

counter = 0

Measure:
HIGH sensorPin ' Discharge the capacitor
PAUSE 20
counter = counter + 1
RCTIME 7,1,Force ' Measure RC charge time
DEBUG DEC counter, " ,", DEC Force,CR
GOTO Measure

So when i go to run my program i get readings but i have found that the force decays over time. i inserted a chart into excel and this is what i get.

force.jpg

this does not make for a very accurate reading. I have not touched or breathed on the sensor. I have tried this with many different items and results are similar. has anyone else experienced this or am i doing something wrong? Thanks
447 x 224 - 5K
1024 x 768 - 85K
1024 x 768 - 85K
1024 x 787 - 95K

Comments

• Hal AlbachHal Albach Posts: 747
    edited 2014-01-24 07:12
    Have you used an ohm meter to verify that the output of the FSR remains constant while the force is applied? The data sheet states that the output is repeatable with a margin of +/- 6%. Also, try replacing the FSR in your circuit with a 10K resistor and see if the readings remain stable.
  • jason0627jason0627 Posts: 17
    edited 2014-01-24 07:44
    that is a good suggestion about replacing FSR to see if it is some other issue.

i did that and here are my readings.

force.jpg