Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Beginner high school project - any help appreciated! — Parallax Forums

Beginner high school project - any help appreciated!

ROBOTiGORROBOTiGOR Posts: 2
edited 2014-01-23 16:15 in Robotics
Hello, I'm a high school student interested in robotics and I just started my first project with some friends, but we're complete beginners so we're having trouble figuring out how to go about turning this idea into a reality..

Basically, we want to construct a speaker "ball" that we will be able to increase and decrease in size via bluetooth. We already have a spherical wireless speaker with bluetooth connectivity and we need to construct the rest of it.

So far, our best idea is to attach the speaker we have to a Hoberman sphere using elastic materials and also a bluetooth controlled antenna or antennas (aerials) that we will be able to extend and retract using a mobile app we will also build.

My friend is doing the coding and I'm responsible for the construction. I have little knowledge about anything like this and have just begun reading about robotics, so if someone can help point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone knows about what tools would be better to construct this or if this has been talked about before, please share any of it with me.

Thanks you! :smile:

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2014-01-18 15:36
    A couple of questions.

1 - Is the speaker ball going in the center of the Hoberman sphere or on the outside?

2 - Will the Hoberman sphere be stationary or moving around?
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2014-01-18 16:06
    This same question was also asked at LMR. It might help anyone trying to help here to be aware of what has been posted at LMR.
  • ROBOTiGORROBOTiGOR Posts: 2
    edited 2014-01-22 17:35
    kwinn wrote: »
    A couple of questions.

1 - Is the speaker ball going in the center of the Hoberman sphere or on the outside?