Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Boe-Bot questions for a first time builder — Parallax Forums

Boe-Bot questions for a first time builder

jonezjonez Posts: 5
edited 2014-01-13 07:01 in Robotics
Hi, very excited to build my first robot! I've ordered the following items off Parallax's store and I'm waiting for them to arrive:

Robotics Shield Kit (for Arduino)
Ping))) Mounting Bracket Kit

The other item's I'm interested in are:

ActivityBot Encoder Kit + ActivityBot Encoder Wheel and Tire x2
Gripper Kit for the Boe-Bot Robot

Q: If I buy the encoder kit and two new wheels will they work with the Boe-Bot chassis? Are there any other parts I need and should order at the same time?
Q: Can you attach both the Ping))) Mounting Bracket and the Gripper Kit at the same time? Will the included screws fit or should I buy longer screws and spacers?

I'm a software developer who's always been interested in robotics. For Christmas I got the Arduino Starter Kit (uno r3) and I own a Lego Mindstorms (r2 not the newest one) and had a blast building and programming a castor rover with it. Mindstorms is a great platform for development but it gets expensive quickly when you want to add more sensors. I still have a lot to learn about building electronics so I figured the shield kit would make my first steps easier.

Initial goal: rebuild my castor rover using my Uno, Boe-Bot kit and Ping sensor. Add a gripper, use waypoint navigation to move items around my house.
Final goal: build an outdoor model that can find garbage on the street and move it to a pile in my garage. Lofty but doable I think!

Thanks!

Comments

• jonezjonez Posts: 5
    edited 2014-01-12 06:00
    Received and built my kit! I placed another order for the encoder kit, wheels, and a compass module. I don't think the gripper will attach without moving some parts around so that will be a future addition.