Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Extremely basic questions regarding Activity Bot, treads and arduino — Parallax Forums

Extremely basic questions regarding Activity Bot, treads and arduino

ZywackZywack Posts: 11
edited 2014-01-29 10:39 in Robotics
Hello everyone!

First of all, an overly wordy and long introduction, but please feel free to skip straight to the numbered questions!

I'm a software programmer by trade, with near zero electronic or robotic knowledge and with no confidence in my 'connecting' abilities. I never even looked at anything robotic, until a few days ago when a gaming website did a short article on NASA's Valkyrie robot. Reading that brought me to the DARPA challenge, which I watched part of the stream. I was very intrigued by it, and then some people in the chat mentionned that cheap robots were now available, like the UBR1 (35k). Somehow, that brought me to learning about little programmable robots, but the whole soldering thing was a definitive no go for me at this point... And then I came across it. A perfect tool to dip into a new hobby out of curiosity.The holy grail. A robot that blew my mind with possibilities and that would fill my newly discovered itch.

The S2 Scribbler!