Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hello Noob looking for help — Parallax Forums

Hello Noob looking for help

jason0627jason0627 Posts: 17
edited 2013-12-21 12:54 in BASIC Stamp
Hello so i am just learning basic stamp and i have a question i was hoping you could help me on

this is regarding bicolor led diode

so i have a basic stamp 2 and my set up is like this

p14 connected to resistor ... then connected to led (anode) then connected to p15

now the idea is current flows from p14 through resistor then diode to p15.

i write the code

do

high 15
low 14 pause 1500

low 15
high 14
pause 1500

low 15
low 14
pause 1500

loop

now it does exactly what i want (goes from green to red then off and loops)

but i was wondering what would happen if i took out the low part of the code. The practice still worked but i became concerned as to where the current was ultimately flowing. since i did not state it should go to low (ground) where is it going. my guess is that since it is connected to the i/o of the processor then it is going back to it. does this hurt it?

thanks

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-12-21 12:06