Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
C or Spin? — Parallax Forums

C or Spin?

ChristianGeekChristianGeek Posts: 1
edited 2013-12-16 17:10 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi, I'm new to the Propellor and just received my Activity Board. I'm curious...is there an advantage to programming with Spin instead of C?

Craig

Comments

• msrobotsmsrobots Posts: 3,709
    edited 2013-12-13 19:58
    welcome to the forum!

It depends.

If you already know C it is the fastest way to go. If you do not know C then Spin may be easier to learn.

Parallax does a huge work in getting C documentation and demos out, but most Source out there for the propeller is in Spin and Pasm.

Spin is slower than C but uses less memory, thus more complicated programs in Spin might still fit in 32K.

on the other hand C supports external memory for lager programs and spin does not.

Spin is made for the propeller and neatly supports the whole concept of the Propeller. It is quite fun to learn and program with.

so -

it depends.

Enjoy!

Mike
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2013-12-13 21:07
    I had never programmed in C until recently. As a consequence, I embraced Spin and PASM early on and found them both to be incredibly easy to use and great tools for rapid applicaiton development. But if you're already conversant in C, that might be your best on-ramp to Propeller programming. Even then, I would encourage you check out Spin, since I still believe it to be the best overall language for Propeller programming, being the one that was designed specifically for the Prop. Also, Spin's object library (http://obex.parallax.com) far outstrips what's available to date in C.

-Phil
  • twm47099twm47099 Posts: 867
    edited 2013-12-13 21:40