Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can I use a large lookup table in PBasic? — Parallax Forums

Can I use a large lookup table in PBasic?

MCRlabsMCRlabs Posts: 3
edited 2013-11-15 14:24 in BASIC Stamp
I am a mechanical engineering who works in the Detroit Automotive Industry. I do well with mechanical stuff, but I am just an eager microcontroller student with little experience at this point.

I am currently trying to design a throttle pedal simulator using my basic stamp. This throttle pedal simulator will be used to replace a drive-by-wire throttle pedal that is used commonly in a modern vehicle. As you may already know, a modern throttle pedal is no longer directly connected to the throttle blade like it was in the good ’ole days…..Rather, a modern throttle pedal is simply a 2 channel analog potentiometer in most cases. Your throttle pedal simply sends two analog voltages to your PCM (Powertrain Control Module). Your PCM then uses these two voltages to determine the desired throttle % and control the actual throttle blade angle. The voltage outputs from the throttle pedal can be characterized by two linear functions. Usually one has a positive slope while the other commonly has a negative slope. I want to use this throttle pedal simulator in my dynamometer test laboratory so that I can have better control over demanded thorttle angle, as well as program smoth transient throttle sweeps.