Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
increment or decrement led oscillation speed — Parallax Forums

increment or decrement led oscillation speed

ElectronsRfunElectronsRfun Posts: 5
edited 2013-11-12 11:41 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hello All,

I am new to micro-processors and had a question about the propeller in Spin. I am working through the PE Kit and wanted to try a combination of lessons into one project. I have 2 leds oscillating and am trying to set the oscillation between 1 second and 10 seconds. The code I wrote kinda works but when the push buttons are pressed the oscillation speed changes more than by 1 second and the code seems to have to wait for the current code to finish before the increment or decrement takes place. What I would like to have happen is the oscillation speed change by one second incremently or decremently by on second each button press. Also I would like for the pressed button to change the oscillation speed immediately. What I think I need to do is use cogstop then cogstart or cognew to initiate a new cog every time one of the push buttons are pressed and pass the parameters between the methods I write. Am I on the correct path?

Here is the code so far:
CON

pin1 = 0
pin2 = 1
pb1   = 21
pb2  = 20

VAR

long    stack[20]
long    speed
PUB Main

cognew(Blink, @stack[0])
cognew(Button, @stack[10])

PUB Blink 

dira[pin1..pin2]~~
outa[pin1..pin2]~

speed := 1

repeat

!outa[pin1]
   waitcnt(clkfreq * speed + cnt)
   !outa[pin1]
  !outa[pin2]
   waitcnt(clkfreq * speed + cnt)
   !outa[pin2]

PUB Button

repeat
      if ina[pb1] == 0
        waitcnt(clkfreq/6 + cnt)
        speed ++
        speed <#= 10
      elseif ina[pb2] == 0
        waitcnt(clkfreq/6 + cnt)
        speed --
        speed #>= 1

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2013-11-09 12:18
    Hello All,