Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Learning C on the Prop — Parallax Forums

Learning C on the Prop

ajwardajward Posts: 1,130
edited 2013-09-27 07:10 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I'm just getting into C on the Prop and have gone through some of the example programs. Tried to compile some source code I wrote for G++ on my Linux box and it compiles okay, but it doesn't run... or at least doesn't run the way I intended (no output to the terminal).

Not asking for a diagnostic... not yet anyhow. Just wondering what "gotchas" to look out for when porting code?

Thanks for any wisdom!

Amanda Ward

Comments

• Hal AlbachHal Albach Posts: 747
    edited 2013-09-22 17:10
    I know little to nothing about Linux but you may want to read through the post on this (Learn) forum down a little from yours "Simple IDE Linux Question by linuxbikerider. They seem to go into quite some detail re Prop C and Linux. (Some day I'll learn how to link another forum post!)
  • PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2013-09-22 19:09
    Hal Albach wrote: »
    (Some day I'll learn how to link another forum post!)

Right-click on the thread/subject, select Copy Link Address, right-click Paste in the Reply field.
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2013-09-22 19:17
    ajward wrote: »
    I'm just getting into C on the Prop and have gone through some of the example programs. Tried to compile some source code I wrote for G++ on my Linux box and it compiles okay, but it doesn't run... or at least doesn't run the way I intended (no output to the terminal).

Not asking for a diagnostic... not yet anyhow. Just wondering what "gotchas" to look out for when porting code?

Thanks for any wisdom!

Amanda Ward

Hi Amanda.

The biggest potential gotcha with C++ can be code size. That being said, there are examples around of Propeller running Arduino C++ code (ya, that's what it is). Martin_H has ported lots of Arduino code (video).