Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can I do this with a homework board? — Parallax Forums

Can I do this with a homework board?

thomasfamilythomasfamily Posts: 17
edited 2013-09-03 11:01 in BASIC Stamp
OK, I'm still very new to this but I'm having fun and the kids and I have created a jack-o-lantern that sprays silly string by using the homework board and a PING sensor.
I took the basic idea from instructables and then wrote the code essentially from scratch since the original was for the arduino.

it works great and we can't wait to use it but now I'm thinking what ELSE can I do with this? The homework board is running off a 9V and it is powering the PING and a single servo that with some added hardware pushes the spray nozzle on a can of silly string.
simple program, looks for anything less than 3 feet away then activates the servo. waits 30 secs then looks again.

my wishlist:
1. add LEDs to the eyes (pretty simple, just haven't done it yet)
2. also would love to have a car horn beep as it sprays the kids when the approach the door. or even better about 20 secs after the string hits them so they get a second jolt.
horn pulls 12V. so can I power the whole board with 12V? that might make things easier than trying to add in a transistor (no clue how to do that)

how does the increased voltage affect my PING sensor/servo/LEDs ?
if I cannot run the board off 12v how do I power the horn separate from the PING, servo and LEDs? transistor? if so how?

looking at maybe switching the PING to this sensor simply because it is black and easier to hide? (also PING actually belongs on my BOE-BOT and needs to go back) issues using this sensor on a HW board?

also for the price hard to beat this set of horns. I'd only need 1 for the project but they state 12V and pull 8A current.

thanks for the insight.

Shawn

Comments

• thomasfamilythomasfamily Posts: 17
    edited 2013-09-02 18:02
    Still reading a bunch.
    something like this seems like it would work.