Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Mysterious(?) output from compass HMC5883L — Parallax Forums

Mysterious(?) output from compass HMC5883L

MCAMCA Posts: 13
edited 2013-11-07 00:33 in Accessories
I’ve connected a HMC5883L compass to my BS2 using the setup and program code found at the of the kickstart-page, http://learn.parallax.com/KickStart/29133.

Typically I get the following output using default settings, and although the values are varying about +-10 between readings, they do not seem
to change with rotation of the compass:
X = -20
Y = -4
Z = 10

These values do not make any sense to me, they are far too low to be useable. So I suspect either there is either something
I do not understand (likely, since I'm new to this) or there is something wrong with either the code or the compass itself. I tried
maxing the gain in the compass, but still get low values (although sligthly higher). Then I made the compass do the self test. This gave
reasonable results, not the exact ones indicated in the compass data, but not way off ( http://www51.honeywell.com/aero/common/documents/myaerospacecatalog-documents/Defense_Brochures-documents/HMC5883L_3-Axis_Digital_Compass_IC.pdf ).

For Gain 5 I got positive/negative self test:
X = -434
Y = -405
Z = -4096
X = 412
Y = 396
Z = 237

To me this sets off some new questions: How come there is an overflow on negative when not on positive? Do the outputs indicate
the compass is working normally or not (there was no Z overflow when I tried gain 7, the value then was only z = -94!)?

And, my original question remains, how come I get so low values when trying to measure in continuos mode and why don't they
seem to correspond at all to rotation in any axis??

Would be very grateful for any help sorting this out, and/or if someone has tried the BS2 kick-start code for this and and can tell
me their results.

BR / Adam

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2013-07-14 15:21