Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Game ideas for Robot Camp for Kids — Parallax Forums

Game ideas for Robot Camp for Kids

Tru CustomTru Custom Posts: 13
edited 2013-07-13 10:28 in BASIC Stamp
Hi All,
I am an student instructor for a summer camp to help inner city kids gain an interest in Robotics / Electronics and am using the Boe-Bot with BS2. Keeping their focus has become a challenge for the first week. Today I had a class challenge with the Reaction tester from "Whats a Microcontroller and it was a hit! We are working through the Boe Bot book but I need some fun distractions and games seem to be just the ticket. If anyone has any ideas it would be greatly appreciated.

Camp has three more weeks to go Ugg!

Thanks

Comments

• mindrobotsmindrobots Posts: 6,506
    edited 2013-07-11 12:37
    Programming Practice: One kid is "programmer" one kid is robot. Have a very limited set of instructions (forward backward, turn left, turn right, # steps) - the "programmer" needs to guide the "robot" through some task.

Tasks could be things like:
    1) "drive" to cone and return
    2) retrieve object and return
    3) navigate through multiple cones
    4) if you are outside, it's warm and you are brave, figure out how to toss and catch water ballons

...or this might be a complete mess and failure.
  • Tru CustomTru Custom Posts: 13
    edited 2013-07-12 05:37
    mindrobots wrote: »
    Programming Practice: One kid is "programmer" one kid is robot. Have a very limited set of instructions (forward backward, turn left, turn right, # steps) - the "programmer" needs to guide the "robot" through some task.

Tasks could be things like:
    1) "drive" to cone and return
    2) retrieve object and return
    3) navigate through multiple cones
    4) if you are outside, it's warm and you are brave, figure out how to toss and catch water ballons

...or this might be a complete mess and failure.
    edited 2013-07-12 05:41