Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Anyone using the 4D systems uLCD-32PTU touch display?? — Parallax Forums

Anyone using the 4D systems uLCD-32PTU touch display??

w4fejw4fej Posts: 264
edited 2014-05-16 09:08 in Propeller 1
I just purchased the module and the first one I got had a flakey cable connection to the module. I sent it back for a replacement and the new one arrived yesterday. Good connection now.

Anyone been able to interface it to the Prop?? I can't even get it to work like the docs say it should with their examples never mind taking to the Prop... The touch screen doesn't appear to do anything. Very frustrating..

Mike B.

Comments

  • ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2013-06-16 10:01
    Mike I have a 4.3" non touch version of this module. It uses a new serial command set. Make sure it is set up for the serial environment using the 4D IDE. One person on here started to make an object but I don't know if they completed it. It's pretty simple to use, see the attached PDF. EDIT: The modules come from 4D with the serial environment already loaded.
  • ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2013-06-16 16:54
    I put a little demo together that uses the module set to 115200 baud using the 4D workshop IDE. This demo only clears the screen, then writes a "X" to the screen, then draws a white line on the screen.
    Con                                                         
                                                             
      _CLKMODE = XTAL1 + PLL16X                              
      _XINFREQ = 5_000_000  
      ACK = $06
      NAK = $0f
      
    Var
              
    Obj
                                                          
      lcd  : "fullduplexserial"
              
    Pub main | a,x,y
      waitcnt(clkfreq*2+cnt)       'wait 2 seconds for display to initialize
      lcd.start(17, 16, 0, 115200)
      
      lcd.rxflush                  'clear the screen
      lcd.tx($ff)
      lcd.tx($cd)
      get_ack
      
      lcd.tx($ff)                  'print a X to the screen
      lcd.tx($fe)
      lcd.tx($00)
      lcd.tx("X")
      get_ack
      
      line(20, 0, 239, 200, $ffff) 'draw a white line across the screen
      get_ack
          
      repeat
      
    Pub Get_Ack
      if lcd.rxtime(1000) == ACK
        return true
      else
        return false
              
    Pub Line(xstart, ystart, xend, yend, color) 
      lcd.rxflush
      lcd.tx($ff)
      lcd.tx($c8)
      lcd.tx(xstart >> 8)
      lcd.tx(xstart & $ff)
      lcd.tx(ystart >> 8)
      lcd.tx(ystart & $ff)
      lcd.tx(xend >> 8)  
      lcd.tx(xend & $ff) 
      lcd.tx(yend >> 8)  
      lcd.tx(yend & $ff) 
      lcd.tx(color >> 8)
      lcd.tx(color & $ff)
    
  • TubularTubular Posts: 4,702
    edited 2013-06-16 18:29
    Mike,

    I've been using other models in the same family for years without any major dramas.

    There are two flavors - the SGC which is driven by serial commands from your microcontroller, and the 4DGL which has its own scripting language on the module. You can swap back and forth by changing the PmmC (firmware), as required
  • Don MDon M Posts: 1,652
    edited 2013-06-16 19:12
    I have been using the uLCD-43PCT in a recent design of mine. I've had pretty good luck using the SPE serial mode with the prop. I've attached a driver that I use. It doesn't have all the SPE commands yet but just the ones I've needed.

    Make sure you pay attention to the message received back from the commands you send. Also- when you reset or clear the display ($FFCD) make sure you give it enough time. I think it is somewhere around 3 seconds.

    If you have any questions I'd be glad to help.
  • ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2013-06-16 19:14
    Tubular that is what I did at first is change back to the SGC firmware to use the SGC serial commands. But then I figured out that the module can be used with the new firmware using the new SPE serial command set. You just have to pick a default baud rate (I use 115200). I start the 4D Workshop IDE and click on "Options" from there you pick your baud rate you want the module set for default on power up and click "OK". Then click on "Create a new project" and select your model from the list and click next. Then click on the arrow on the "Serial" box. Then click on "Tools" then click the "SPE load" button. When it is finished it will be loaded to respond to the new SPE serial command set @ the baud rate you selected. The new command set has different commands than the old one but it's use is about the same. You can use the Propeller just as easy using the SGC or SPE serial command set. I would have put some spacing between the lines on this post but the forum will not accept a return key during entry.
  • OldFartRadiomanOldFartRadioman Posts: 30
    edited 2013-06-17 18:12
    I have had good luck using the Visi-Genie interface, makes screen design a snap. Once you figure out the checksum and handshake its all down hill.
  • w4fejw4fej Posts: 264
    edited 2013-06-23 08:11
    Thanks to everyone that replied. Sorry it took so long for me to respond but I have been out of town.

    Turns out all the trouble I had with the touch screen not working was related to the SD card that came with the starter kit. They shipped a 4gb, FAT32 formatted SD card. After speending a lot of time with 4D tech support they swear up and down they don't ship 4GB cards. The docs repeat over and over the module requires a 2gb, FAT16 formatted card. I tried in vain repartioning and formatting the 4gb card down to 2GB to no avail. Windows SAID the card was FAT16 and 2gb but it refused to work in the module. I tried to go and buy a 2gb SD card but that was just about as sucessfull as trying to find a 10gb hard drive, impossible.

    It occured to me that my cell phone had a 2gb card in it so I backed up the cell data/pix , erased the card in windows then stuck it in the module and bang, worked like a charm.... 4D STILL claims they don't ship 4gb cards. Parallax swears they DON'T change out the cards. Dunno... It now works and that's all I care about.

    FYI, I am redesgining an R/C project controller that has no external joysticks, knobs or switches. Everything done with the touch screen. This is for a large scale boat by the way, not an airplane...

    Off to the bank to take out a loan so I can buy enouigh ink and paper to print out the mountain of 4D documentaion doc files...

    Thanks again for all the help and sample files...

    Mike B.

    P.S. Final thought. The display module is nice and easy to use but the real gold is in the IDE. I love the four levels of the IDE from the very low skill level required to the full blown gut level programmig.. Love this IDE.
  • ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2013-06-23 08:58
    Mike I had to edit my first post in this thread and this post as after much research I find that these new modules come shipped from 4D with the serial environment installed . The "SPE Load" button in Workshop4 IDE loads a 4DGL program that provides the serial environment to communicate to a host processor. If you look at some of the functions in the pdf I posted they are the serial equivalent of the gfx library calls for 4DGL code.
  • D.PD.P Posts: 790
    edited 2013-06-24 21:08
    ratronic wrote: »
    Mike I had to edit my first post in this thread as after much research I find that these new modules come shipped from 4D with the serial environment installed and set to use 115200 baud default. The "SPE Load" button in Workshop4 IDE loads a 4DGL program that provides the serial environment to communicate to a host processor. If you look at some of the functions in the pdf I posted they are the serial equivalent of the gfx library calls for 4DGL code.

    Mine just showed up yesterday and the spash screen came up with 9600 baud out of the box.
  • ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2013-06-25 08:27
    Ok I modified my post's to omit the default baud rate but it is good to know the model Parallax sells come preloaded with the serial environment.

    Edit: Post #6 describes how to change the default baud rate using Workshop4 IDE.
  • BobbyVBobbyV Posts: 19
    edited 2013-06-27 08:30
    w4fej wrote: »
    After speending a lot of time with 4D tech support they swear up and down they don't ship 4GB cards. The docs repeat over and over the module requires a 2gb, FAT16 formatted card. I tried in vain repartioning and formatting the 4gb card down to 2GB to no avail. Windows SAID the card was FAT16 and 2gb but it refused to work in the module. I tried to go and buy a 2gb SD card but that was just about as sucessfull as trying to find a 10gb hard drive, impossible.
    .

    Ha, Ha... they sent me a 4GB card also (I ordered it directly). I really like the hardware but I think the support and documentation is really lacking. I've noticed on the 4D forums that every time someone has a problem the moderator first blames the user for any and all mistakes. Even though I'm sure it is typically is user error which causes the problem, it was hard to learn how to use the hardware with some of the earlier documentation (the older graphics composer docs really sucked).

    Anyway, after hours and hours of pulling my hair out I got my 4GB card to work by using it in the RAW format. It's a bit of a pain because you have to open a file using it's address rather than file name but it works!
  • w4fejw4fej Posts: 264
    edited 2013-06-27 15:32
    @Bobby V.

    Good deal on the 4gb card... I just swapped the card from my phone and got on with my life.

    On the docs I agree with you. There is WAY too much of it and WAY too many app notes. Seems like they could have built a single, broad reaching doc instead of splintered like it is..

    At any rate, I got a three form test app built in about 60 seconds last night and was able to switch between the forms quite nicely..

    Another point I am not clear on (haven't tried yet) is the doc titled "Visi-Genie Reference manual where it implys it talks serial to a host as is. Now, do I have to load the serial environment to talk to a Genie app or is the Genie environment capable of comms by itself?? The serial docs has 135 commands. The Genie manual has 23.. Guess I'll hook it up and see what happens..

    Miike B. - North Carolina
  • w4fejw4fej Posts: 264
    edited 2013-07-06 15:06
    Hi Don:

    "If you have any questions I'd be glad to help"

    You mean that? I have made great strides with the display. I have built a 5 form program that will be my R/C controller. I have also been able to "see" the serial line from the display "wiggle" on the O'scope.

    Could I impose on you to show me a very simple spin program that reads a rocker switch and changes an LED? Once I see how the basic concept works I can get a kick start from there..


    Thanks. Mike B. - North Carolina
  • EMHmark7EMHmark7 Posts: 93
    edited 2014-05-16 08:27
    Hi W4fej and Don M (and all),

    Could you help me on that thread: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php/155729-XBEE-to-4D-uLCD-display?p=1268396#post1268396

    Thanks,
    Marc
  • EMHmark7EMHmark7 Posts: 93
    edited 2014-05-16 09:08
    Hi Mike,

    How did you directly read the serial on the uLCD and put it on the screen as an oscilloscope (other than writing my own)?
    I am using the Com1 on uLCD43-PT.

    Thanks,
    Marc
  • I wonder if anyone can answer a quick question? I purchased an uLCD-32PTU microLCD about 2 years ago from Parallax. I played with it for a month running spin. One day I started it up, I got a white screen instead of the usual splash. I shelved it, thinking it got zapped somehow. I wondered if the firmware got corupted. I tryed downloading from the website in England, the download came in on wi-fi, but failed to install. Tryed that a few more times, with the same results. I really would like to see this working again. If anyone could give me a clue, I would appreciate it.
  • Does it respond to the 4D Systems Workshop IDE?
  • Thanks for response, From what I can remember, I couldn't install after download.
    I don't know if other options are available now. I stand corrected, this company is out of Australia.
  • there is a demo in the OBEX, "uLCD(SK)-32PTU_DEMO_v2.0". I have been using it for along time and it works well
  • I haven't messed with this in a while. And I was in the process of dissecting that demo when it pooped. I'm thinking it is a firmware problem. All I get is a white screen.
    640 x 480 - 140K
    640 x 480 - 121K
  • Thanks mmowen,
    This looks like a very promising link, I don't seem to get anywhere on a smart phone. I'm going to try again later.
  • Yep thats the info I need, the gist I got quickly was that there defective, that's been awhile.
    Thanks again
Sign In or Register to comment.