Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Low cost wireless "button/switch" — Parallax Forums

Low cost wireless "button/switch"

FredBlaisFredBlais Posts: 370
edited 2013-11-12 13:35 in Accessories
I'm fairly new to wireless stuff and I wanted to know if there is an easy way (without µC) to send the state of a button or switch 200 feet away on an open field. Does anyone have advice or clue on how I might do that? I know it could be done easily with an Xbee but I think it's over-kill just for 1 bit of unidirectional data, and then I would need to program it...

Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2013-06-10 06:13
    How about this?
  • PWonePWone Posts: 1
    edited 2013-06-10 20:14
    I purchased two of these key fob PCB receiver boards and neither one worked. I applied 5 volts per the instructions, unrolled the antenna push the A button and nothing. I tried re-linking the fob with the receiver many times. The best I could get was an occasional led blink about four feet between the two components. If they got any closer or further apart nothing would work. I am very disappointed with this product and would not recommend purchasing one of these devices.

Steve
  • FredBlaisFredBlais Posts: 370
    edited 2013-06-11 05:45
    PWone wrote: »
    I purchased two of these key fob PCB receiver boards and neither one worked. I applied 5 volts per the instructions, unrolled the antenna push the A button and nothing. I tried re-linking the fob with the receiver many times. The best I could get was an occasional led blink about four feet between the two components. If they got any closer or further apart nothing would work. I am very disappointed with this product and would not recommend purchasing one of these devices.

Steve

Thanks, I will take this in consideration.
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2013-06-11 20:48