Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can a Fade LED routine run nested while other LEDs flash? — Parallax Forums

Can a Fade LED routine run nested while other LEDs flash?

grafixusagrafixusa Posts: 2
edited 2013-05-18 12:33 in BASIC Stamp
O.k. I am VERY new at Basic. I purchased this to help me with an art project. I am building a scale airplane that my dad used to fly. I need to replicate strobes, beacons and constant on lights (with LEDs). After trying to do this with electronic circuitry for MONTHS!, I opted to buy a Basic Stamp Activity kit and have managed to almost complete the project- (not by my genius... but because of the flexibility of the Basic system). All of the coding below is basically from the manual, but I pulled the bottom code (fading an LED from another post). It works fine, however, as you experienced programmers can see... it fades IN SEQUENCE with the other processes in the code. In other words: LEDs 9, 12, 14, 25 flash while green 6 and red 3 are on constantly, AND THEN 11 fades in and then out... then the process repeats.
IS THERE A WAY TO HAVE THE FADES RUNNING CONTINUALLY while the other LEDs are flashing? Can the fade code be nested some how so that it runs in the background constantly? Thank you for your help!

'Test.bs2
'Turn two LEDs on and off. Alternate flashing twice 25/1000 of a second, pause
'for one second then repeat indefinitely.
'Hold a red LED on indefinitely.
'Hold a green LED on indefinitely.
'Fade a red LED up and down.

' Future needs: Add 3 UltraWHite LEDs that remain lit to simulate taxi lights.
' Try to determine if there is a way to fade a red LED continually up and down, while strobes
' 9, 12, 14, 25 contniually flash as well- instead of operating in sequence.?(This LED
' simulates a red beacon, one on the belly of fuselage and one on the top). F.Y.I. This red
' beacon, on an airplane indicates to the ground crew, that the engine(s) is/are running.)